• Home
  • News
  • SKOB features prominently on VAFA Awards Night
  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Categories
    Categories Displays a list of categories from this blog.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Login
    Login Login form

SKOB features prominently on VAFA Awards Night

  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 554
  • Print

Mitch Brown places second in Woodrow Medal

Three votes in the last match of the season between University Blacks and St Kevin’s capped off a stunning 2017 Woodrow Medal count with Bede Mahon saluting on the VAFA’s night of nights at Crown’s River Room.

Sitting equal-first with Mitch Brown (SKOB), Ross Young (Blues) and an ineligible Matt Thomas (OMs) on 14 votes at the end of Round 17, Mahon polled the maximum in the Blacks’ loss to SKOB to win the award three votes clear.

The Blacks’ skipper took five rounds to poll his first lot of votes with a best-on-ground performance against St Bedes/Mentone Tigers in Round 5 before going quiet again until Round 9. However, the star midfielder stormed home with nine votes in the last four rounds, drawing level with a three-vote performance in Round 17 and repeating the effort in the final match of the season.

Brown, Young and Thomas each sat equal-second on 14 votes, while Lachlan Ferguson (Coll) and Jason Tutt (DLS) were equal-fifth on 12. Ferguson led the count after polling maximum votes four times in the first 10 rounds but injury curtailed the remainder of his home and away season.

SKOB and Blues boast the highest number of vote-getters with 16 each, one ahead of Old Xaverians.

Mahon is the first University Blacks player to win the coveted award since H.A. Meredith in 1952.

Lachie Sullivan - 2017 Rising Star Award Winner

SKOBFC congratulates hard nosed midfielder/forward Lachie Sullivan on becoming the VAFA's Rising Star Award winner for season 2017.  

Lachie Sullivan first played First XVIII football at SKC in 2013 while in Year 10. He went on to win the B & F Award in 2015.

He came to SKOB’s in 2016 as an U19 player and is still qualified to play U19s football this season but he has never played for the SKOB U19 team!! He played 10 Senior games and 4 Reserve games in 2016 and 18 Senior games in 2017. He was named in this year’s VAFA Premier Team of the Year and will be a contender for SKOB’s Jack Douglas Medal Thursday week.

Well done on a stellar 2017 season Lachie.

Tutt claims VAFA Coaches Premier MVP Award

Jason Tutt has completed an outstanding first season in the VAFA by taking out the 2017 Premier Coaches MVP Award at last night’s Woodrow Medal & VAFA Awards Night.

Tutt, who played 40 AFL games for Carlton and the Western Bulldogs between 2010-2016, polled 70 votes to claim the award ahead of 2015 winner Ross Young (Blues) and St Kevin’s midfielder Gerard Gleeson on 65 each.

Old Melburnians skipper Thomas Paule came in fourth spot on 63 votes while three-time runner-up Tom Humphrey (DLS) came fifth with 54.

Tutt, who provided elite run and carry from De La’s defence and played a leading hand in their finals appearance, polled the maximum 10 votes just twice throughout the year but consistency was the key as the star defender polled in 12 of the 16 games he played.

St Kevin’s midfielder Nick Wood shot out to the front in the first four rounds on 26 votes before going down with injury. Tutt took the lead after polling eight votes in Round 8 and never lost the mantle, sitting atop the leader board for the last 10 weeks of the year.

Tutt follows in the footsteps of previous winners, Tom Penberthy (Coll), Young and Harry Tinney (Trinity).

The top 10 place getters were:

Jason Tutt (DLS) 70
Gerard Gleeson (SKOB) 65
Ross Young (Blues) 65
Thomas Paule (OM) 63
Tom Humphrey (DLS) 54
Lachlan Sullivan (SKOB) 49
Mitch Brown (SKOB) 49
Courtney Hylton (Coll) 44
Tim Gaeppen (Blues) 39
Kenny Ong (Coll) 36
Last modified on
Rate this blog entry:

Latest Tweets

Get Social with us!